Okay, it’s time for an update.


I’m on my fourth day working at Rinehart Engineering.  It’s a nice job.  The building is air-conditioned, it’s a small company so there’s no bureaucracy, and I get my very own cubicle.  In case you’re wondering what I do there, the next paragraph will explain it as best as I can.  If you’re not interested, skip it.


I am the sole programmer on an application that will handle the user interface and loading of data for a door security control.  Basically it’s a card reader that looks up in its memory if you’re allowed through that door at that time on that day.  Rinehart already has a program that does this (it’s one of their main things) but it’s designed to run on a couple of servers and to handle 100s of doors.  Mine will ideally run on a PC, and will control 3 or 4 doors.  The program consists of grabbing “cardholder” data off of an Oracle database and allowing the user to modify it all.  Since I have no experience with databases, let alone Oracle databases, I spent the first two days in my cubicle reading the Oracle JDeveloper handbook.  I now have the basis of the first function (that’s user function, not programmer function), which is “Maintain Cardholders”.  It displays a big list of them on the left, and when you click on one editable details are shown on the right.  There’s some other stuff but that’s basically it.


Okay, that it for the programming.  In other news…


Aaron decided that he “can’t afford” to pay $300 a month for the apartment.  While I may not agree with his statement, nevertheless he moved out over the weekend.  We talked to the office, and by paying $250 and up to two months of rent (until the apartment is rented out), we can break the lease.  Laura and I packed up most of my stuff yesterday, and I’m going to start moving it out tomorrow evening.  If you want to help out, show up at my apartment on Saturday; that’s when the big stuff is going.  I’m moving into Krepsland Resort, or as it’s better known, Todd and Matt’s house.  Tony moved out a few months ago, so now there’s room for me.


There’s a couple of bonuses to the new place.


1. It’s a house.  Not an apartment, not a townhouse, not a duplex.  It stands on its own, so the guitar shall be played as loud as is needed.  Assuming that it’s okay with the housemates, The Tower now has a place to practice.


2. It’s close to campus.  It’s roughly 2 miles from campus.  That means I can sleep in later study more before leaving for class.


3. I am friends with both of the people there, so there shouldn’t be any problems living with them.


Again assuming it’s okay, I’m having a housewarming party on Saturday night.  I’m thinking videogames, perhaps a B-horror movie.  Even a LAN maybe.


Well, I should get back to solving these problems in my Java code.  Stay Metal m/

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 28, 2005 at 4:18 PM

    For shame, for shame, shouldn’t you be doing some sort of important programming? hehe What are they paying you for?

  2. Anonymous
    June 28, 2005 at 9:33 PM

    fuck java code. you need to be working on your 8-finger tapping.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

