The program is nearing completion.  At least I think it is.  Linsey needs to get working and interface the card access device to the database so it can be updated on scans.  But the software side of the program is practically done.  Here’s what I can do:


Maintain cardholders, departments, alarms, and transactions


Scan for new transactions and alarms with super cool color-changing table


Display alarm and transaction histories


It may not seem like much, but there’s not much else to the program.  Think about it, if you wanted a door access system, what would you want?  A way to maintain people with cards and the types of messages generated by the swipes, and a way to monitor swipes with an alert for any special case.


So, enough about work.  How about Texas?  It was nice to see my sister and her family, but since my brother-in-law got a job in Harrisburg, they’ll be up here in a few weeks anyway, so the trip kind of was wasted.  It was fun being at the beach though (http://www.sopadre.com/ ), even if it was 100 degrees everyday with an ocean temperature of about 90 degrees.  The pool in the back of the house we rented maintained around 95 degrees.  Apparently the Caribbean is that hot too.  That makes me never want to go there.  In the evening it was actually cooler in the air than in the water.


I have no idea if the Tower is practicing tonight.  Can someone let me know?


Laura’s 21st birthday is this Monday.  We’re going down to her parents on Saturday for a celebration.  While I have plans on what we’re doing Monday, I have no idea for a gift.  Last year’s toaster oven didn’t go over well, so I think appliances are out.  We’ll see.


Gigantour is fast approaching.  I’m getting my tickets on Friday.  If anyone (chris) decides to not be a poser and go with me, I’ll group the tickets together so our seats will be next to each other.


The Mesa buyer still owes me $500.  I was supposed to get it three weeks ago, didn’t get it, sent him an email, he replied with “I need two more weeks”, I say ok, still no money.  I’m getting pretty fed up with him, but am at a loss as to what I can ethically do.  Sure I could take it over to Guitar Center and have them give me $1500 as they offered to do back in February.  But how much should be refunded to my tardy payment-making buyer?  So far I have $1600 from him, which roughly $1000 was spent on a new amp, guitar, and trip to Scotland.  Maybe I should start charging late fees, like 10% a week or so.  The agreed upon payment date was March 18th, so that would make it almost 20 weeks to now.  If I had been charging 10% a week he’s now owe me $3000 instead of $500.  That sounds like a good idea.


Well, this entry is super long, and since no one really reads these I’ll end it. m/

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 3, 2005 at 3:07 PM

    hehe I read the whole thing. Something I will say for the Italian toaster oven, it has been very… useful. And whenever I toast six pieces of bread and the warm smell of burning toast wafts up to my nostrils I think ‘Ti amo, Scott, ti amo’ 😉

  2. August 4, 2005 at 1:36 PM

    Maybe it was my gear sense that tingled when I saw that you could make a lasagna in the toaster oven, and forgot that you, being a woman, don’t care about gear. ?

  3. August 4, 2005 at 3:38 PM

    And you being a gear head don’t care about punctuation. ?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

