Home > Technology > Vista, Video Cards, and other V words

Vista, Video Cards, and other V words

I got Vista Home Premium 64-bit for Christmas and am in the process of installing things on it.  So far I like it.  It can get a little sluggish if I try to do too many things at once (like right now I’m installing Visual Studio 2008, installing F.E.A.R., listening to music with Windows Media Player, and using Live Writer to write this blog entry) but overall it feels more responsive than Windows XP.  Maybe in the future I’ll pop 2 or 4 more gigabytes of RAM in to get 4 or 6 total.  I’m sure that would help the speed issues.  I don’t know if putting my swap file on my old hard drive makes a difference, but theoretically it should.  Vista is only using 1GB of it though, so I don’t think that’s the cause of any slowness I receive.

My video card is on its last legs.  I can’t play any game that utilizes the 3D capabilities of the card for longer than 10 minutes without artifacts showing up in the game and it eventually crashing.  I have my eye on Gigabyte’s version of the HD 3850 512MB card, since it comes stock with a Zalman vf-700 cooler.  Since the 3850 is just a down-clocked 3870, the cooler could prove beneficial in overclocking the 3850 to 3870 speeds.

Well, it’s well past my bedtime, so I’m heading off to sleep.  Does anyone read this?

Categories: Technology
  1. Chris
    December 30, 2007 at 4:36 PM

    get the 8800gt its the o0nly video card you need and its not too pricey!

  2. aaron
    December 31, 2007 at 7:26 PM

    I was playing F.E.A.R. last night,  I think the level design is sorely lacking :(As far as running the swap file on a separate hard drive, I’ve never seen any measurable improvement either!I think the hd3850 is a sweet card for the money, But I’d probably go for the 8800gt 256mb, as I never use AA and I usually play in 1024×768 or 1280×1024.

  3. Scott
    December 31, 2007 at 8:19 PM

    Yeah but 8800GT 256 doesn’t score as high as the 3850 512.  The 8800GT 512 would be a good value if anyone actually sold it for MSRP instead of $300.  Same deal with the 3870.
     
    Laura is making me wait until my birthday to order the card anyway :(

  4. aaron
    January 1, 2008 at 1:02 AM

    in what game does the 3850 score better? maybe at some crazy resolution due to a larger frame buffer.

  5. Scott
    January 2, 2008 at 2:49 PM

    I forget where I read it as it’s hard to find reviews of the 512MB 3850, but it beat it in every game, even at 1280×1024, no AA.  This was a factory OCed 3850 though.  It’s the Asus one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

