Home > Uncategorized > Gear List – PCT 2014

Gear List – PCT 2014


A hiking buddy of mine is tackling the PCT this year. I have to admit that I’m a bit envious.

Originally posted on Bone of Contention:

Hi Folks! It has been awhile. I hope you are well. Aww thanks, me too! How is the family? The kids? Great, great, good to hear.

Holtwood Dam 3/22 Holtwood Dam 3/22

I have been super duper ultra busy the past few months getting ready for this hike – working on the plans, buying the last minute gear, figuring out my resupply strategy and buying food, packing boxes, testing gear and replacing a few items, and doing my real job, and working with my favorite volunteer group Lancaster Young Professionals. I have been the acting event chair for a gubernatorial debate to be held this October and had many tasks to finish up as well as finding and briefing/training my replacement. Work at RAI has exploded with opportunities, which is good, but the timing is problematic. My dad and I have gamed out as many scenarios as we can, done lots of…

View original 1,066 more words

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 25, 2014 at 6:50 PM

    I am about to become a Spiv! “One who lives by his wits without regular employment.” Wish you could come out as well buddy!

  2. Daniel
    July 20, 2015 at 4:10 PM

    Hey there, this is about your post here:

    I apologize for contacting you here, but I couldn’t figure out how to contact you on MSDN. I am having the exact same problem, doing something very similar. I was wondering if you ever figured out what was going on.

    Here’s what I have been able to figure out:
    The .NET controls are active, but they are not being redrawn and do not receive input. If you have any external threads making updates, those updates are still going through, even though you cannot see the results.

    I can get the controls to redraw (ugly and flashy) by calling this.Invalidate() from within the .NET control, but it makes the software look very clunky and unprofessional. Double-click for input is far from optimal, but I can live with it if I have to. Please tell me you found a solution… this is driving me batty!

    • July 20, 2015 at 4:24 PM

      Hi Daniel. It was a while ago. I seem to remember having to do something with forwarding events back and forth between runtimes…maybe a Beth Massi blog post? Sorry I can’t be of more help, but it was 7 years ago. :)

      • Daniel
        July 20, 2015 at 4:37 PM

        2008 was 7 years ago already? That can’t be right… … :(

        Thanks, I’ll keep searching.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

